TravelerReviews

New Orleans & Mississippi River Plantation Country

review_img

Dickem

Memorable Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

We enjoyed perfect weather -- sunny and comfortably warm although temperatures cooled down over the weekend, but rose again thereafter. The trip was very well organized. We learned a lot about New Orleans and the Cajun country to its west. This is a trip well worth taking.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Creole and Cajun food. Jazz at Preservation Hall. Cajun music and stories.

review_img

bjackson

NEW ORLEANS &BAYOUS & THE BIG EASY

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. THE TOUR DIRECTOR WAS SO HELPFUL AND KNOWLEDGEABLE ESPECIALLY WITH THE STORM SANDY APPROACHING AND EVERY ONE FROM THE EAST COAST UNEASY THE ITINERARY WAS GREAT AND ENJOYED THE CAJUN EXPERIENCE BUT THOUGHT THAT IT WAS TOO LONG. THE TRIP PROVIDED A REAL EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE AND THE TALK ABOUT THE CITY AND HOW KATRINA .

Most Memorable Moment:

THE FAREWELL PARTY

review_img

ladonnahaden

WOW!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

we had been to New Orleans before but never like this. Grand hotels and interesting diverse events each and every day. The level of service was top notch! The food was amazing!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Cajun singers in Scott La. and the cooking school in New Orleans

review_img

doneagle

Our New Orleans Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Our tour director (Randy) was very well organized and familiar with both New Orleans and the Cajun country. We really enjoyed the experience of savoring the music and especially the food! We highly recommend this trip for travelers who have not been to the New Orleans area.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the ninth ward and the opportunity to see the effort put forth by the volunteers from the non-profit organizations.

review_img

inwaikele

New Orleans-maybe we'll move there.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

The special jazz concert must be the highlight of the trip. It made our tour. Hotels and meals were great. .first class. Cooking class-great! Liked staying more days at one hotel, instead of constantly moving. Concert at the Mint was great and it was nice to spend two extra days at the Ritz. It gave us the chance to rest and tour at our leisure.

Most Memorable Moment:

As above, the jazz concert was just great.

review_img

tpman

Let the Good Times Roll

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

From the passion of our director and guides to the passion of the people and their passion for fun, this was an amazing trip. The accommadations, especially in New Orleans, were excellent, and the food was great. All the excursions were interesting and informative. I especially enjoyed the cooking school in New Orleans.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memoriable moment was learning to play the rub board and spoons at Mama Begnaud's place and jamming some cajun music with D. L. Menard and those two young very talented musicans.

review_img

cayers

New Orleans/Bayou trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

I enjoyed every bit of this trip. I especially appreciated the chance to not only see New Orleans but to experience it through cooking class, dance lessons, Tabasco bottling, etc. I even learned how to play the spoons and the washboard! The tour gave me a much broader picture of the area than I would ever have had if I had traveled on my own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dancing the Cajun two-step. The whole Cajun scene was fun, educational, and very memorable.

review_img

Mimacan

Many great memories, not enough space to tell here

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Preserv. Hall, Mardi Gras Wrld, School of Cooking= great memories! Present. of unique environment of NO made us understand better a visit of Lower Ninth Ward. Mama Redell & legendary DL Ménard & few Cajuns delighted us with their unique music/story telling @ La Maison Begnaud. Our boat trip on Atchafalaya & delicious lunch @ McGee's Landing= a must

Most Memorable Moment:

Finally being able to visit New Orleans and walk in the French District, discovering Preservation Hall, talking to D.L. Ménard & his friends in Cajun country are but a FEW of the wonderful memories we have of New Orleans. Every day was remarkable with its many discoveries!

review_img

judy correll

new orleans

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

The trip was enjoyable. However, the first day was very stressful and frustrating. The driver left the airport without me. While I was waiting for my bag at the carousel, I saw him walking away. I called the emergency number and it was a couple of hours before he came back. Fortunately the group had not yet left for dinner; they were having drinks and left within about ten minutes for dinner.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We sincerely apologize for the stressful beginning to your trip. We are extremely disappointed that you had this unfortunate experience with the airport transfer. We have followed up with the personnel responsible, and hope this did not mar your overall enjoyment of the tour.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button