TravelerReviews

The Best of Hawaii

review_img

forever23

Our second Tauck Tour and there will be more!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2012

Amazing views, hotels, tour guide, and travel companions. The Outrigger ride, cameraman sunset cruise and the cooking class were so unique, not to mention dinner at the Iolani Palace. Quality & Value for your dollar, that is what you get. Tauck does it right and we'll be back for the Mississippi River trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Pearl Harbor. Will stay with you forever!

review_img

Charlotteslaught

Hawaiian Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Dear Tauck: We fully enjoyed our first tour with your company. We were taken care of from the time we landed in Honolulu until we left from Kona. Our tour director kept us fully informed as to where we were to be and when. All of the planned events and locations that we visited were top-notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our hike to the top of Diamond Head. (That was not a part of the tour; but we had always wanted to do that.)

review_img

KathleenR.

Wow! What a Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Jeff met me as I entered the hotel He explained things so clearly and diplomatically. His charm and good humor was infectious. He is a real problem solver, especially when hurricane Sandy hit the east coast, he tried to make sure that each of the folks on the tour would be able to get home safely. He really knows Hawaii. Great fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, The outrigger trip, Pearl harbor, Iolani palace, The helecopter tour over Kileauia, the lava tube, the catamaran tour to view the sunset over the Pacific Ocean. The Hotels were wonderful too. The whole trip from start to finish was one I would love to repeat.

review_img

Most beautiful trip we have ever taken.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Pacing was comfortable. Guides were knowledgeable and interesting. Activities, such as parasailing, were fun and not too challenging. Scenery is breathtaking. But the meals and activities that were not included were very expensive. We were ask to pay for bottles of water in the rooms of the Hyatt and Fairmont.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our helicopter ride over the volcanoes on the big island.

review_img

Doctored

Hawaii

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Great Trip. One of the best we've every had. Hotels were tops, food was wonderful, fellow travels congenial, director competent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Pearl Harbor National Monument

review_img

KB1005

wonderful Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

The hotels were awesome, the food was delicious and Minna, our tour guide, was wonderful! The bus drivers and hotel associates handled our luggage as we traveled from island to island. Minna handled everything, hotel checkin, flight checkin, tickets for events… She was very knowledgeable, friendly and sincere. She did all the work for us!

Most Memorable Moment:

every day was memorable

review_img

remlig

Hawaii 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

First of all Minna Staff was fantastic. You are quite fortunate to have her as a guide. The trip was great and three of the four hotel properties were terrific. The Royal Hawaiian is living on its reputation and should be replaced and maybe "big city" Honolulu should be too. Tauck support is first class with luggage, airports and planned dinners.

Most Memorable Moment:

Oddly enough, the gourmet cooking experience on Maui rates first and the volcanoes a near second. The Fairmont Orchid and Grand Hyatt Kauai are up there too!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent Hawaiian trip. We appreciate your candor and will immediately look into using your suggestions to continually improve the ongoing experience for our future guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cjmrj

Natural Beauty Along With Tauck Service Second to None . . . Priceless!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

The Review Title says it all. First Class hotel accommodations/ food, very knowledgeable Tauck Guide and a wonderful group of 45 fellow travellers. Would have loved a little more time on the serene Island of Kauai especially after a very busy Oahu. Loved the charm/service of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel and the lanai at all four hotels. Sunsets! Wow!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many! Never dealing with luggage as it magically appears at hotel room. Warm greeting with a lai by Tauck Reps on arrival at Honolulu airport, viewing the ocean/garden for the first time from the Royal Hawaiian lanai, all the water sports at the Fairmont Orchid - Big Island at no extra cost, swimming with sea turtles! Serenity of Kauai!

review_img

mimi linda

Wonderful Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Excellent trip. Our tour guide Jeff, made all the difference. I felt there was too much time spent on the bus waiting to get into hotels. Not enough down time. Maybe would have gone to less islands or spent an extra day at each resort, did not have enough time to enjoy excellent accommodations. Food was excellent...

Most Memorable Moment:

The catamaran ride was very nice.

review_img

Jim Bo

If Only The Buses Were Updated

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

I was disappointed with the buses, lack of time allowed at Pearl Harbor and the tour guide. First the buses; on my previous trips the comfort level with the seats was outstanding. On this tour the seating was so uncomfortable.If the person in front of me pushed there seat back my legs were crushed. The light in the bathroom was out the first two

Most Memorable Moment:

days which made going an experience.The AC on the bus broke for a half a day and on another day the bus broke down for over two hours.The tour guide was good,however,he talked too much,no down time. He talked about politics, poor [Foul Language] education in Hawaii and environmental issues (plastic bottles). Issues such as this should NOT be discussed.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your candid remarks about your experience. We became aware that regrettably the bus used on your trip that provided wheelchair accessibility which was required was not at the standard and comfort of our newer coaches typically used. We apologize for the lapses in proper air conditioning, this certainly is an embarrassment and we are following up our transportation supplier. Thank you again for your patronage, and someone from Guest Relations will contact you shortly to learn more of your overall experience, and to specifically review the commentary made by the guide -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Doug Speeler

A fabulous time and a great tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This was a first trip to Hawaii so we wanted to experience as much a possible. This tour gave us this opportunity and Tauck did a great job to ensure that we saw all the important sites and had plenty of time to explore on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Helicopter flight in Kaua'i and the gourmet cooking lesson at Sansei in Maui.

review_img

Peggy Westburg

Best of Hawaii

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

I have traveled with Tauck before but this was the best tour. The tour director was splendid, you felt as if you were with a group of friends experiencing new sensations. Tours were excellent, always something new, always exciting and exhilarating.Hotels were A-1, meals excellent. I celebrated my 89th birthday and felt like a queen!

Most Memorable Moment:

The luau on the Big Island--outstanding!

review_img

amjconnolly

Best of Hawaii

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

First time to Hawaii. It was awesome! Stayed at great hotels, food was delicious, trips were enjoyable, and our tour director was very pleasant and informative. Because the days were so full we had to get up early in the morning but in the end it was worth it. Probably will not go back because of the jet-lag. If not for that we'd be back in a jiffy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through a lava tube.

review_img

Ed and Ethel

10 out of 10 !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

We have done extensive traveling worldwide - yet The Best of Hawaii trip will remain one of our most memorable. From the first moment when we opened the door to our room at the Royal Hawaiian and saw the panorama of Waikiki Beach and the surfers riding the waves we knew we were in for something special.

Most Memorable Moment:

The attention to detail by Tauck and our tour guide makes it difficult to single out one specific thing. Each day brought new surprises...new experiences...and many wonderful meals.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We definitely agree that Hawaii is truly one of the most scenic places on Earth. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MCC

Fun Trip, Beautiful Places, Interesting People, Great Tour Director.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

The 12 day Hawaiian outing was a lot of fun! The overview of 4 islands gave us a basis for comparison for future trips and the tour director was the best tour manager we have ever encounter. The 24 members of our small group were all interesting and added to our enjoyment.

Most Memorable Moment:

Wow...hard to pick, but here are a few: The helicopter trips with spectacular views including lava fields/tubes; the gourmet cooking experience at Sansei (who knew it could be so much fun!); the views from our hotel balconies; whale watching during the sunset cruise....and many more...

TAUCK RESPONSE

Hawaii truly is one of the world's most beautiful places and we're so happy that you had a great trip. Hope to see you again soon.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

tahoebill

The Best of Hawaii

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

The Best of Hawaii trip on Feb.14th 2012 was excellent.....three things made it extra special: 1. The Itinerary to all Four Islands. 2. The group of 38 fellow travelers. Probably the nicest group I've ever traveled with. 3. The Tour Director....26 years with Tauck. Truly outstanding! Great presentation & knowledge!

Most Memorable Moment:

Catamaran Cruise - Great Whale Watching.

review_img

mhill74

Hawaii 02/09/2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Our tour director, Jeff was wonderful but the quality of the accommodations left a lot to be desired. We had a wonderful group, and about 1/2 of the group had traveled with Tauck before and everyone commented on how the accommodations on this trip had declined significantly from their previous experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

The helicopter tour with Sunshine Tours was outstanding.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent journey to Hawaii. We're sorry that you found our hotel accommodations not up to your satisfaction. We take all guest comments seriously and we’d love to hear from you; please feel free to reach us at guestrelations@tauck.com. We’ll be happy to discuss your experience in greater detail with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

dane starkey

Comparisons and Compromises

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

This is our 2nd trip with Tauck to Hawaii after 21 years. While our trip was enjoyable and Jeff(tour direstor) was great, the trip was just OK. Maybe we were star-struck and young on our last Hawaii trip, but this time was average. The accomodations were less appealing, other than the Pink Hotel in Oahu(same) and we seemed to fill time boringly.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Sensei cooking excursion was a Treat! Of course, weather cancelled our whale watching cruise(a bummer). The luau was entertaining, good show. We had already done the helicopter and other trips. Truthfully, our trip to Spain/Portugal late last year may never be equalled- great agenda and Tour guide, Mark. This was our least favorite Tauck Tour!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We appreciate your taking the taking the time to give us feedback on our Hawaii tour and take your comments seriously. We're glad you had a nice time, although not everything met with your expectations. Your feedback will also be shared with our Product Managers who use the information to make necessary adjustments and tweaks to each tour on a recurring basis. Lastly, we thank you for your patronage and hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JOHN MUMFORD

Great Tour

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Seeing a mix of the main four islands was a wonderful first way to visit Hawaii. The trip was nicely balanced between touring and relaxing and featured some really nice hotels. My only comment is that I would have liked more time on the island of Kauai.

Most Memorable Moment:

Kauai-helicopter tour , lunch in St Regis Hotel Princeville. Oahu- walking up diamond head and outrigger canoe ride Maui-whale watching.

review_img

ctnana

Beautiful Hawaii

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Wonderful trip w. beautiful scenery, great accommodations, poignant moments (Pearl Harbor) and awesome volcanoes. The best Tour Director ever - she knows Hawaiian history and culture, always prepared & unfailingly cheerful. Honolulu is big city; the outer islands more laid back, & both had their charm & history. I know much more than when I left home. A luau 1 night and volcano another day. Wonderful food (even cooking some- what fun). We were truly pampered.

Most Memorable Moment:

Looking down at the Arizona on the bottom of the bay.

review_img

queen

Aloha

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Everything was absolutely seamless. Our tour director, Minna Staff, was an incredible person- she remains as enthusiastic, positive, and organized as she has been for the 21 years that she has been doing this tour.I appreciated the low key approach-there were no "name games" or tour tags, so I did not feel like I was in high school! Hotels and food were excellent. The plain room for the welcome dinner and the lack of beach and pool area in Maui were my only complaints.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved visiting all of the volcanic area- and really enjoyed the two golf games we played at some very scenic courses.

review_img

Wassie

Best of Hawaii

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

BEST trip ever. PERFECT agenda,lodging,food, guide. A dream come true!

Most Memorable Moment:

from beginning to end!!

review_img

traveling grandma

Paradise

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

Hawaii is a magical place. The culture, art, the beaches, sunsets, and people are something you cannot forget, nor see any where else. The helicopter rides are will worth the trip: the volcanoes put on a great show. We could not believe the hotels Tauck had put us in. They were "out of this world". The food-fantasic!! We did so many activities, it is hard to list what was the best part to write about. I cannot wait to go back. Tauck is the way to go.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is hard to pick out. But we will say the helicopter ride over the volcano and the rainforest with the hundreds of waterfalls is a sight we will never forget. The sunset cruise was also fun and the crew were so great. It was like we knew them forever. Hawaii is a hard place to pick out the most memorable moment. Their sunsets are hard to beat.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button