TravelerReviews

The Panama Canal & Costa Rica - Eastbound

review_img

Jim G

Test

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

test review please ignore

Most Memorable Moment:

test review please ignore

review_img

Kricket

Panama Canal and Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Best vacation ever taken! Kim and Scott were fantastic and their tidbits and maps and suggestions just made the trip stellar! Jorge in Costa Rica made us feel like family, intertwining personal stories. The naturalists for Panama really instilled a love of their country. Ship was fantastic- small group allowed meeting variety of people- loved it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Personally it was seeing the Panama Canal at Mira Flores! with the tour group i'd have to say the farewell dinners on the ship and in Panama. There was something very special created for us which made us realize how special this tour really is! Scott and Kim created a DVD of the tour and when shown there wasn't a dry eye in the room!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Wow! We're so happy that you enjoyed yourself. This is what great travel is all about!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Parrish

Wow! Costa Rica to Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

This was our first, and we hope many more, Tauck trips. It was everything we had hoped for and more, from the tour directors, the itinerary, the quality of the ship's staff and overall accommodations and food. We are not first time travelers, but this was truly the best. Can't wait for the next one!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to define, but passing through the Panama Canal was a dream of ours and it was most memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you loved your trip. We hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

savannah

On and Off the Beaten Path

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Tauck succeeds once again on leading us into unknown territory, far from home. This time, Central America! It was the Panama Canal transit that first got our attention when looking for a way to escape the New Jersey winter. We also wanted to experience a Rainforest and tour San Jose and Panama City. Country and city, perfect together!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was truly out of "National Geographic."We met a remote tribe of Panamanian native indians, the Embera. We were welcomed with smiles, enjoyed their dances, and were thrilled to purchase native handicrafts. Getting to their village on the zodiac pontoon boats was an exciting adventure. Tauck knows how to make us smile!

review_img

Eve

Costa Rica and the Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Great trip except for a couple of problems. The boat (LeLevante") had a problem with the AC in all of the main areas - lounge, dining room and breakfast and lunch areas. It was too hot! Also, I'd suggest that you have the dinners that were at the hotels, at a different place.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through the Panama Canal at night with all of the lights on, and then coming back and watching other boats go through it on another day.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry that our partner ship Le Levant did have some A/C problems during this trip and hope that it did not cause you too much discomfort. The issue has since been resolved. Regarding the hotels, our dinner at the Intercontinental in Panama has been very well received thus far. For San Jose however, we are looking at other options for dinner and want to be sure any alternative is truly compelling for our guests as we are continually seeking to enhance the dining experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

gardengal

Costa Rica and Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Another wonderful Tauck trip to beautiful places! Kim was a knowledgeable tour guide and ever ready with helpful advice. And the 4 naturalists were virtual fonts of info about land and sea. The ship, LeLevant is beautiful and it's Captain and staff are all about friendly service. And our fellow travelers were fun to be with.

Most Memorable Moment:

Traversing the Panama Canal after reading David McCollough's book.

review_img

Glorian

LeLevant thru the Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

The ship was great as were the excursions from the boat ... hiking, kayaking, swimming and visiting the Embera and Kuna people. The Waterfall park in San Jose was wonderful but the city tour was just so so. Panama City is a big, bustling place but the excursions we took were great.

review_img

Milligan

Tauck is truly World Discovery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

This superb trip enabled us to understand why Tauck adds the phrase, "World Discovery" to its name. We discovered new peoples and new worlds on this trip. We developed an appreciation for an environment totally different from home. We learned how "ego-centric" we are. All this amid sailing on a ship which seemed like our own personal yacht!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking through the rain forest and seeing a scarlet macaw in the wild makes the displays of our local zoo seem inappropriate.

review_img

bczwilling

Much promise but a let down

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Trip was interesting. Naturalists were great. Ship is out dated, food was not up to Tauck standards. Very disappointed in cuisine which should have been a highlight of a French chef. Really enjoyed the snorkeling. Should have been told in advance that transit of canal would be during the night.

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling was excellent. Would have been nice to see more wildlife.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're pleased to hear that you found the trip interesting, especially the naturalists and snorkeling. However, we're disappointed to hear that the ship as well as food fell below your expectations. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with management and hope despite these disappointments, you returned home with great memories of these amazing places.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button