TravelerReviews

A Week In... Venice, Florence & Rome

review_img

Richie Rich

Venice Florence Rome

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

1. I felt that the tour of 40 people was to large especially for the price. By the way Jeniffer did a good job with the size of the group. 2. We paid $780 for Venice Luna Hotel. This was very expensive. Disappointed that Tauck did not use there purchasing power. When we have traveled on Rich Steve's tour, we always got there Hotel rates

Most Memorable Moment:

Cellar tour and Wine lunch Florence was outstanding

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent tour experience. I think you'll find that while Tauck tends to be a bit higher in price, our trips are truly all-inclusive with no upsells, add-ons, or extras, unlike most competitors including Rick Steve. We are still glad that you enjoyed your trip overall however and hope you'll still choose to travel with us again. We truly appreciate your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Libby Meyers

A Week in Venice, Florence and Rome

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

The week we spent in Italy was the trip of a lifetime. From the moment we left Chicago and arrived in Venice every moment was amazing. The hotels were first class, the meals were wonderful, the agenda was set up so that we experienced all there was see and do and made the most of the time we had in Venice, Florence & Rome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our private visit to the Sistine Chapel was definitely a high point and our guided tour of the Vatican. The day trip to the Tuscan countryside that included a visit to the wine cellars, wine sampling paired w/an outstanding lunch also made for an amazing day! We also made new life long friends due to our adventures together..It was wonderful!!!

review_img

peds

Incredible Italy!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

My husband and I just returned from the Venice, Florence, Rome trip and it was FABULOUS!! The hotels we stayed in were luxurious, the food was phenomenal, and our guide, Georgio, was knowledgeable, helpful, and always available for questions. This was our second Tauck trip and we are already planning our next one.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the Uffezi (sp?) in Florence with the lecture. I also loved the hotel in Venice more than the other ones. Another memorable moment was the water taxi ride from the airport in Venice to our hotel--a real treat! My husband and I celebrated our 31 anniversary and where we ate dinner in Florence was perhaps the most memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your wonderful memories and Happy Anniversary!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Pete McCormack

Trip to Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Great time - I was told Tauck, and this trip in particular, was the best, and wasn't disappointed. Very well organized and the entire tour went off without a hitch. The director was great - very knowledgable, and gracious.My only complaint is there wasn't enough time...Pete

Most Memorable Moment:

Vatican night tour and the Sistene Chapel. The guide knew her stuff, and made it much more enjoyable.

review_img

Bobbi McGowan

Outstanding Experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

To celebrate a monumental birthday for both me and my sister, we and our husbands spent a week in Venice, Florence & Rome. The attention to all the details was impressive, to say the least. Our Guide, Georgio, was fantastic and made it a very enjoyable trip. Each of the local guides were very knowledgeable and informative.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of it...Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Square, gondola ride with serenade, David, Uffizi, Tuscan wine tour with lunch, St. Peter's Basilica. If I had to narrow it down, the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel. Being able to tour this privately and allowed to take pictures, really put that over the top! 1st time with Tauck, will definitely be back!

review_img

Hugh Shannon

Fantastic Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Wonderful trip. Each location was great. Loved the city of Venice, the art of Florence, and the history of Rome. Wonderful hotels and our guide Debi was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Sistine Chapel private tour.

review_img

Samalot

First Class

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This was our first time taking a tour vacation. Tauck could not have made it easier on our journey. Our guide,Giorgio,was always available to handle any special request and kept us well informed of each days activities.Travel between the cities was so easy with relaxing train rides and buses to get to our next destination.A remarkable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour of the Antinori winery and the incredible lunch, with matching wines, that was served has the both of us still talking.

review_img

TCappy

The Great Escape to Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

It started out as a romantic notion to fly to Rome for the week end to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary...from this, it turned into a fantastic vacation to Venice, Florence and Rome. This tour allowed us to see all the important sights without long waits and still gave us time to explore on our own. Hassle free! Great Guides, great group!

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving to our hotel in a boat in Venice, private tour of the Sistine Chapel in the Vatican, Medici Chapel in Florence.

review_img

JillE

An Otstanding Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Our week in Venice, Florence and Rome was beyond our expectations. The trip was extremely well organized & orchestrated. We saw incredible sitess, met interesting people and have already made plans to meet fellow travelers at home. Our guide, Giorgio, was well informed, providing suggetions for activities and restaurants to visit in our free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many special moments-seeing the statue of David, our private tour of the Vatican/Sistine chapel, visiting the Jewish ghetto and the olive oil/wine tasting at the vineyard. Purchasing my leather jackets was also fun!!

review_img

hockeyfan

Bella Italia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

What a trip! Art, architecture, history, food, wine beautiful cities, beautiful countryside. Giorgio was an awesome tour director and the local guides were excellent. Top hotels, close to the major attractions. It's nice to bypass the lines and go right in to major sites & museums.

Most Memorable Moment:

The after hours tour of the Sistine Chapel was unbelievable. I was pinching myself to be sure it was real and not a dream. An amazing opportunity!

review_img

reneefahs

Spectacular trip- great way to celebrate a 10th anniversary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

If you have never been to Italy, this is the trip for you. It offers a great balance between guided tours at the popular sites and time to explore on your own. The transportation between the cities was flawless and not having to drag luggage around was a definite plus. Our tour director was fun and incredibly knowledgable!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel in Rome with just the tour group and no other visiters was amazing. A serenaded gondola ride through Venice was very special. The tour and spectacular lunch at the Antinori winery in Tuscany were fantastic.

review_img

BrendaBoulton

Fantastic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Four of us ranging from 17 to 72 made this trip. We all loved it! The tour guides made all the history interesting and everyone was anxious for the next experience. Georgio our guide was wonderful, efficient, everything went like clockwork. He certainly went out of his way to be sure everyone was treated special!

Most Memorable Moment:

We had a great group dinner in a little restaurant in Florence with friends we met on the trip. The many courses of food and wine were delightful with great people. But many other events were great too! I love traveling with Tauck! (three more trips booked!)

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for sharing your recent experience and we look forward to traveling again with you soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Marta

Venice, Florence & Rome Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Very well organized. No glitches in terms of being met at the airport, traveling to Florence and Rome via train,& luggage being where it was supposed to be. The tour director and the guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. The recommended restaurants were excellent, as were the suggested sights to visit on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

The after hours visit at the Sistine Chapel was marvelous, with no crowds, and plenty of time to appreciate the masterpieces. Photos (no flash) were allowed.

review_img

travelyn

First time touring?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

This is for those of you who like us never went on a tour (even a cruise) - we like our independence and we were sure that no one could execute a trip like we expected. We gave Tauck a try....and we're converted. Enough free time, experiences we couldn't do on our own, saw more because we didn't have to sweat annoying details!

Most Memorable Moment:

The private Sistine Chapel visit! This is the chance of a lifetime. Everyone I've talked to who has visited the Sistine Chapel via the standard method complained about the crowds making their experience very negative.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're so happy you enjoyed your trip to Italy! Thanks also for sharing your experience and we hope you'll travel with us a gain soon.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jaynee

happiness

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

wonderful educational fun taste buds were opened. jennifer our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable charming helpful delightful i believe she made the trip come together. My fellow travelers were lovely. I'm 56yrs old and my dtr. is 20yrs. old and we both came home thrilled that we had traveled with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

the hotels the guided tours the ability to pass the crowds and walk right into an exhibit/church/winery etc.

review_img

richbyrne

Well planned tour.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Very well planned and organized trip. Our guide Anna was very attentive to our needs and provided invaluable advice on using our free time to the best advantage.

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip to the winery and restaurant in Tuscany was a real hit. The gourmet meal was one of the best on the tour and the countryside was a great contrast to the cities.

review_img

HappyRetiree

Great way to see Italy!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

First class from start to finish. Lovely hotels with great service and great locations. Friendly knowledgeable tour director and local guides. First class Eurostar trains were fun & offered view of the countryside. The included meals were delicious with wine. Delightful group of fellow travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the water taxi from the Venice airport. With the sun sparkling on the lagoon and seeing the Doge's palace, the campanille and San Marco Basilica for the first time. Breathtaking.

review_img

Chuck & Mary

First Tauk tour...Won't be the last.

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

An amazing, absolutely perfect, start to finish vacation. First class accommodations, unique private tours, amazing guide and the best food all combined to exceed any expectation we could have had. What a way to experience Italy! This was our 30th wedding anniversary gift and Tauck made it special by acknowledging our special occasion throughout.

Most Memorable Moment:

A Gondola ride with a bottle of Champagne! Also the private visit to the Sistine Chapel.

review_img

feaseljan

Venice, Florence & Rome

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

My husband, Rick, and I have taken a vacation every year for over 30 years, but never before with Tauck. For the 1st time we chose Tauck to Italy and it was the most spectacular trip of all. The Tauck tour guides, the people we met, hotels, food, wine, service, and all the sightseeing proved to be an outstanding trip of a lifetime; it was far greater than our expectations. Everything was fabulous and truly an historical adventure. We are already planning our next Tauck trip... Jan & Rick Feasel

Most Memorable Moment:

ROME and the Private Visit to Vatican Museum and the gondola ride through Venetian canals.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button