TravelerReviews

England, Scotland & Wales

review_img

worldtravel

We really enjoyed it but there were a few "blips"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We certainly saw the best of England on this trip - very little of Scotland and Wales, but that of course is because of the time factor. Tour leader was great. However we were not impressed with the dinner service at the Portmeirion Hotel in Wales, nor the accommodation at Langdale Hall in Cumbria - don't appreciate a rainy walk to dinner.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment was the dinner at the Tower of London and the Keys Ceremony. Very privileged to have been part of this and a great experience to remember. We also enjoyed the hosted lunch with a charming couple at their beautiful country property - very gracious in letting us visit their home.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your recent experience and we appreciate your candid feedback. Rest assured we will immediately look into your comments further with our overseas partners to address them properly. We're still glad you enjoyed your trip overall and hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

D travel

England, Scotland & Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

In retrospect, we would have never spent the money for such an average, at best, experience.The time management and accommodations were all below par.By far,we were most disappointed in the accommodations. We would not recommend this Tauck tour. This was a very disappointing trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loch Lomond and Snowdonia National Park are beautiful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry to hear that the trip did not meet your expectations. We'd like to know more about how we could have made this trip better as we pride ourselves in delivering world-class experiences. A Guest Relations manager will be reaching out to you shortly to follow-up.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

The Jersey Shore Guy

Not Up To Tauck's Highest Standards

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We truly enjoyed all the wonderful places we visited and things we saw on this trip, especially London. We had another excellent tour director and an extremely competent driver. However, most of the accommodations and meals were mediocre at best. This in no way measured up to any of our three previous Tauck adventures in either quality or value.

Most Memorable Moment:

When we first saw the view from our 8th floor room in London after paying an additional 60 poinds per night for an upgrade from our previously assigned wall view room.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We thank you for and appreciate your feedback regarding your journey. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the wonderful places along this itinerary and we agree, London is amazing! We were disappointed however, to learn that your meals and accommodations fell below your expectations. We take all guest feedback very seriously and are pleased to know that a Tauck Specialist has already reached out to discuss with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

greektime

14 days with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This was our first group tour and it was a Full agenda. We chose a small group and we were extremely pleased with that choice. Our director, driver and guides were fabulous. We would have preferred more time at some places on the tour that were of particular interest to us. Handling of luggage, hotels, access to tour sites, etc---Tauck was tops

Most Memorable Moment:

Buckingham Palace, which we stayed on an extra day to visit, was our most exciting moment! Blenheim and Windsor Palaces, which were on the tour agenda, were also places we wanted to visit. Oxford and Westminster Abbey were amazing. London and the Cotswolds were the highlights of our tour. Countryside views are perfect.So much history so little time

review_img

clancey

dramatically beautiful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

It exceeded my expectations in both the sights we saw and the unusual surprises Tauck always provides. Our tour director made the history of these 3 places come alive. I can't say there was a favorite because every day was a new adventure and something beautiful to behold. If you are a history lover and historical fiction reader this is your trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Tower of London

review_img

DeBordieu Colony

Great Britain With Tauk.....A Great Trip!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

I was taken by the beauty, cleanliness, history and people of Great Britain. This was my third Tauck tour in the past 12 months. As usual I was impressed. The places we visited, the knowledge of the Tour Director and local guides, the smooth well organized and "hiccup" free itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many "special Tauck touches" as usual. Probably the one that stands out most is the private dinner in the Tower Of London for our group of 26 and witnessing the 700 year old "ceremony of the keys" when the Tower is secured for the night.

review_img

Muffin

Fabulous Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We saw so much--many castles, beautiful countryside with grazing sheep, Roman ruins, poet's homes, a city wall wide enough to walk on, the interior of two of Queen Elizabeth's residences, museums, gardens, etc. As usual, the hotels were outstanding and the food of the area great. We can't forget the great guides and the wonderful people we met too

Most Memorable Moment:

A very special event that few people get to witness was the Ceremony of the Keys where the main door of the Tower was locked for the night and the keys presented to be returned to the Queens house. This has happen for the past 700 years. Also dinner in the tower where Henry the VI was found murdered!

review_img

klnnville

England, Scotland, Wales 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Wow! What a fabulous trip! The itinerary was nothing short of wonderful, the Tauck Director, Kori, enthusiastic and knowledgeable and attentive. This was our 4th Tauck tour, and the hotels were classic Tauck. For those who love castles and beautiful scenery and history, this is THE trip. Ceremony of Keys at the Tower was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Eating lunch at the home of "landed gentry". Great food, beautiful home / estate, and very friendly hosts eager to answer our questions about what life in Great Britain is like. Drives through the countryside full of some beautiful scenery were awesome.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon! -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

this is a review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

trip was good

Most Memorable Moment:

moments

review_img

algebraprof

Fantastic experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was our first tour with Tauck and our first trip to Europe. We weren't disappointed. The hotels were first-class and the itinerary was superb. Our tour director was wonderful. His knowledge of English history and the venues we visited made the trip thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had several memorable moments. The meadow walk to Langdale along the Great Langdale Bec (river) was lovely. When we arrived at Portmeirion, we were captivated by the unique architecture and beautiful setting on the cliffs overlooking Cardigan Bay. Last but not least, the dinner in the Tower of London was a once in a lifetime experience.

review_img

Jones

AWESOME!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was our first experience with Tauck Tours and our first trip abroad. We cannot say enough about how absolutely awesome our journey was. Tauck took care of everything. I have never experienced such care to all the details, down to seat rotation on the coach.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour director was the most informed, professional, organized, and proficient individual we have ever met. Ron was never at a loss for words and made everyone feel like they were very special whether adult or a child. I know you are proud of all of your directors, but Ron is certainly the cherry on the cake!!

review_img

StephanieB

Would do it again any time!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Despite 11 of 14 days of rain, the tour was absolutely wonderful. As usual with Tauck, I worried about nothing except getting to the bus on time and keeping my camera battery charged. Tour guide, Christine, is a font of information on all of the history of the area. Great accommodations, gorgeous scenery, and an endless opportunity for photos.

Most Memorable Moment:

Trying haggis on our first night in Edinburgh while serenaded by live bagpipe. Great way to start a UK tour!

review_img

bobbyripe

Historical and informative

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

I really enjoyed this trip. I got to see first hand many of the places where so many events of British history took place. The weather was lousy but that's out of everyone's control. The hotels in general were very good to great (particularly The Royal Horseguards in London), with the exception of the hotel in Bath.

Most Memorable Moment:

Impossible to choose one. Among the several I would include are: Blenheim Palace, Windsor Castle, Oxford and most definitely the Ceremony of the Keys at the Tower of London for the farewell dinner.

review_img

Tonester

Rocks of Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Wow! That's what you'll find when you look up Tauck. This trip to Scotland, Wales, and England was our sixth. Tauck never disappoints so we keep coming back. The castles, the palaces, the cities, and the quaint little villages were a delight to visit. One that stands out was Port Meirion, the quirkiest hotel in all of UK.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stonehenge and Windsor and Blenhiem castles....all three left us wondering how they all got there. Our guide was super. The food was very good. All accommodations were up to Tauck's high standards.

review_img

rosewood

Very comprehensive

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

Great long trip....but a very cold summer! Take a coat if you go in August or September! Food was not so great.....lamb, fish, lamb, fish....but the itinerary was good, the accomodations good. More of an educational trip than a luxury trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Absolutely the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh. Don't miss this!

review_img

Photoguy

A Survey of Britian

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

The trip was fast paced... full of variety and history. Busing from Scotland down into Wales then on to London brought out the repacking issues. One needs to realize this, be prepared in order to enjoy to the fullest.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh and being in place before the castle entrance was the highlight ! The hair on your neck will stand up!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button