TravelerReviews

The Blue Danube - Westbound

review_img

RDE3905006 Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This is an American review, so it should show up at the top of the American website and in the middle (i.e. 2013 section) of the Australian web page review section.

Most Memorable Moment:

The river boat.

review_img

Long

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was our 3rd Tauck trip. We had 3 couples going on the Danube. The weather left something to be desired, but in spite of that, Tauck tour guides gave great tours. Also, the local guides were wonderful and full of facts. Tauck always has a surprise for their guests and this was no exception. We highly recommend the River Cruises with Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Spontaneous and surprise opera at the Budapest Opera House!!!!

review_img

BillyK

A Touch of Class

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Elegant, insightful and well planned! Everything went off without a hitch, as advertised visits, and many delightful surprises! The staff was friendly, always smiling (I don't know how they do it) and so accommodating. I can't say enough about the lengths Tauck staff went to ensure this was an experience of a lifetime! (They succeeded)!

Most Memorable Moment:

Quietly cruising down the beautiful Danube one morning, waking up to church bells ringing from a lovely church on the shore.

review_img

Cornell & Patti

Wonderful Trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Both of agree that this was a amazing experience. It was so nice to have everything taken care of wether cruising, touring or on our own. The meals were fabulous, the accommodations on the boat perfect, the crew was so attentive and dud everything possible to make our stay top notch. The daily tours and guides were just perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

The captains dinner - a lovely experience...

review_img

Australian review for RDE2920130

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This review is from an Australian, so it should display at the top of the reviews for the Australian web page, but in the middle (i.e. 2012) reviews on the American website.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bratislava

review_img

bill/sandy

Nothing to Worry About!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Joined friends to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Our 1st trip with Tauck, we expected quality, but Tauck surpassed our expectations! Christine, Andy & Jener were not overbearing, but available always. Swiss Jewel was elegant and comfortable, dining great, tours informative and entertaining, special events VERY special. Quality staff AND guests.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cannot pinpoint one moment. Always having done our own plans and arrangements for travel, I think the moment that we realized we did not need to worry about a thing was the best! Being a little older now, we look forward to this kind of indulgence - keeping the fun and ease in travel without giving up the experience.

review_img

RDE Test Review for American citizen

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Test Review to make sure this review is where it should be (or on top) for qa.tauck.com, while the Australian review will be at the top of the Australian qa page. (This review should be in the 2012 section of the Australian website.)

Most Memorable Moment:

Budapest at night

review_img

JohnK

Blue Danube East Bound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Our Blue Danube trip was wonderful. We took a step back into history, ate delicious meals, were delightfully entertained, and were treated like royalty. We traveled in early September and had perfect weather. I highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the National Treasury in Vienna. We also loved our tour of Bratislava. The Museum of Ethnography was interesting to my wife as her grandparents were born in Austria- Hungary. The churches were amazing, as were the castles.

review_img

Wardell

The Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

This was our third trip with Tauck and it was perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

That everyday ended with new great memories.

review_img

Golfer girl

Blue Danube westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Wonderful trip! We learned so much about the history of Central Europe. The cruise ship was very comfortable and the food was excellent. The schedule was such that we had ample time to explore the cities, attend concerts and/or visit museums on our own - or lounge on the boat. The entire staff was a pleasure!

Most Memorable Moment:

While visiting the Budapest Opera House we were surprised with a performance on the stairs! There were memorable moments every day!

review_img

Glenn41

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The trip was great & we had a wonderful time. The ship was beautiful & the crew was friendly & efficient. It was great having all of the tours & other incidentals included. A special note of appreciation to 3 great guides, Fero & Cindy & Cruise Director. We will definitely use Tauck for future trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments but the dinner in Vienna with the opera singers, ballet dancers & musicians sticks out along with the tour of the Budapest opera house and the added opera aria performances.

review_img

stusamet

Prague to Budapest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

What a wonderful trip...All our Tauck people from the tour directors, local guides, ship captain, and the staff aboard the Jewel made this a unique experience. This is a well planned trip which allows you to see as much as possible. Be sure you have your walking shoes and bring along your cameras.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed everything but if I had to pick one memorable moment it would be the dinner we had in Vienna at the Palais Pallavicini.The menu was wonderful with white glove service but the entertainment was remarkable. I also loved the surprise performance.

review_img

MarieC

Blue Danube River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This was our first tour with Tauck and our first river cruise. It certainly will not be our last. My husband and I were impressed with the beauty of the ship, the attention of the ship's personnel, and the knowledge and helpfulness of our Tauck directors. There is a nice balance of guided tours and free time. We'll be back!

Most Memorable Moment:

A leisurely walk along the Danube and Inn Rivers in Passau. Cruising the Wachau Valley. Waking to the incredible vista of Budapest. Village of Durnstein. Nat'l Opera House in Budapest. Dinner at Palais Pallavicini. Visiting Slovakia - home of my grandparents.

review_img

Photofan36

Velvet glove treatment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

From the moment we landed in Budapest, until we were delivered to the Ruzyne Airport in Prague, Tauck gave us "the velvet glove" treatment. Whether it was a transfer from an airport, accommodations at the hotels, meals on the MS Treasures, or tours, the experience was superior and the concern for us to really enjoy our trip was outstandin

Most Memorable Moment:

Our moments were the dinners at the Hungarian Academy of Science, an Imperial dinner in Vienna, and the Lobkowitz Palace in Prague. Music, dining and entertainment while enjoying an gourmet meal is the way to spend an magical evening.

review_img

ehoresh@comcast.net

DANUBE CRUISE

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the cruise with Tauck.The only concern we had was too much time was spent insome of the small towns, where guests were left with nothingto do once the tour with the guides was over.We would have preferred skipping Regensburg altogether givingus more time in Prague.

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip to the Opera House and also the performance in the Palace.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. Our goal is to deliver the best experience in travel; feedback from guests like you enable us to make any necessary changes to our itineraries. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the rivercruise; we do hope that the memories you made are still being shared. We care very much about your satisfaction and we will certainly share your feedback with the Product Manager of this journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Juan

My Danube river cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Excellent. Filled with a lot of surprises. The work of our directors was excellent specially of Sabina. Yanto as our waiter was superb and since we had two people with special dietary needs he was always checking on the menu to make the proper changes and adjustments in our food. Anna , the one in charge of our cabin, was present when we needed.

Most Memorable Moment:

All activities that involved the good music we heard.

review_img

TonyC

Wonderful Danube Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Everything about this trip was wonderful, except the really hot weather. We met many friendly and interesting fellow travelers that made the trip even more fun. The trip is a nice balance between organized sight seeing and having time on your own which we really enjoyed. You get to experience the different cultures and learn about their histories.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising down the Wachau Valley sipping wine, relaxing and viewing all of the wonderful and beautiful scenery!

review_img

RJS666

Blue Danube in a wheelchair

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

We have a special focus. Gale has limited mobility, and the majority of the off-boat tours were done with her in a transport chair pushed by her husband Bob. It may not take a village, but it takes a boat-load of people to make for a wonderful trip. There was a large crew to keep the boat running, the food cooking, and the pusher's scotch full.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were four Tauck staff who managed all the events, and gave some wonderful and knowledgeable lectures on the boat and buses which enhanced all aspects of the trip. There were a different set of local guides at each stop, who usually gave very knowledgeable and fun tours. All told, the staff made a nice trip a wonderful trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for sharing your experience and glad you had a wonderful time!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KDFitz

Down the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

An insightful glimpse of Central European culture. Beautiful architecture and exquisite art and music marked the large cities and the smaller stops were made memorable by the local guides. I loved the cruise down the river. It was a museum in itself. Our Tauck guides were superior. They were helpful, knowledgeable and fun to be with.

Most Memorable Moment:

The afternoon I spent on the deck enjoying the journey and the beauty of the area. So quiet I could hear the birds on shore.

review_img

GarryR

Sheer delight on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

This was the first time we had traveled in central Europe and 3rd time with Tauck. It exceeded all our expectations. Our Tauck tour directors were the best and the local guides really personalized the trip. There were unexpected treats around every bend of the river. So glad we did the add ons to Budapest and Prague.

Most Memorable Moment:

Playing the triangle with the string ensemble in the Palais Palavicini - being part of such beautiful music was thrilling. Hearing the opera singers in the Budapest Opera House brought tears to my eyes - couldn't imagine anything more moving - it was totally unexpected. Tauck continues to amaze us.

review_img

Trekker

One Fantastic Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

A most enjoyable trip. The Tauck staff really worked together as a team and did a great job. The boat crew were equally as great. My wife's dietary restrictions were handled with the greatest of care. The step-on guides were skilled and did an awesome job.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Cesky Krumlov. The Krumlov Castle was worth the trip. Additionally the free time we had and lunch in the town, seated by the river were memorable for my wife and I.

review_img

The Wonder of Musical Magic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

It's like going to Grandma's house--fun, care-free, educating, entertaining, great food (healthy, delicious, well-presented etc.) and pampered! What we saw in Budapest, Prague and in-between was like we had never been there before: fresh insights, interesting programs and best tour directors. It was time and travel funds well-spent!

Most Memorable Moment:

Selecting one would be difficult: ~Listening to Michael & Amber (Music Directors) perform a Schubert Leid while gliding along the beau-ti-ful & scenic Danube ~FUN Karaoke with a twist--selections from operas & musicals ~Amber talking about the life of Mozart on the drive to Salzberg ~Sitting at the Passau Cathedral organ gallery w/organist demonstrating ~Meals with top-notch performances in Science Academy (Budapest), Palais Pallavicini (Vienna), St. Peter's Skiftskeller, & Lobkowicz Castle (Prague)

review_img

RDW1721107 Test review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

This is a test review to see if it appears at the top of the list for the au website since the Purdies are from Australia.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything!

review_img

tcastanias

Blue Danube Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2011

We loved this trip! So much so, that we immediately booked another Tauck tour! We have been to Europe many times but never to these places. We learned so much about the history, art and people of this area - the guides were fantastic! Also staying on the river boat for 8 days was very relaxing. No busy days with transfers where you don't see much. Every day was filled with interesting fun stuff. A really great way to see Europe!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is very hard to pick just one thing - but the dinner at Palais Palicinni (spelling?) in Vienna was wonderful.

review_img

Test review tlicht

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2011

tlicht test review

Most Memorable Moment:

test review tlicht

TAUCK RESPONSE

Best writing ever!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button