TravelerReviews

A Portrait of India

review_img

LeslieBayer

India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Our first trip with Tauck and we will be back. We have traveled with many outfitters and Tauck is by far the best. Our tour directer could NOT have been better - he is simply a pro as is the entire organization. We were a little afraid of the large number of people on the tour (29) but it never seemed like a large group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two places stand out - The Taj Mahal and Varanassi - the high and low of India - both memorable. Beyond the fabulous sights and the divine bubble of our fabulous hotels; we did see the real India and except for the terrible air - India is indeed incredible. A highly memorable trip. We recommend this trip without hesitation and Tauck the same. We

review_img

Portrait of India

A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Our trip was both disturbing and wonderful. Peter was a great guide. He was very organized, exceptionally knowledgeable and able to provide a lot of information while we were on our bus trips which made them pass quickly. This is not an easy trip. We covered quite a bit of territory. Loved the Oberoi Hotels.

Most Memorable Moment:

Agra through Udaipur were our favorite places.

review_img

candlev

A trip to remember

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

This trip exceeded our expectations. We were exposed to all the sights, sounds,smells and contrasts that India has to offer. We never experienced "delhi belly" which was our fear. The hotels were beyond amazing and our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and organized. We would definitely take another Tauck trip!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Taj Mahal and experiencing the cremations at Varanasi.

review_img

Aspen

Excellent Introduction to Northern India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2012

Loved my recent trip to Northern India primarily because our guide, Peter, was so well informed about the Country, culture and people. His love and genuine interest of the history and progress of India was contagious. The hotels, sites and of course, the fellow travelers were all great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Saying good night to the Ganges in Varanasi and releasing our own candles on the river. Could also be having rose petals floating down as we entered the hotel in Udaipur.

review_img

Anne Marsh

A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

If there is one trip that travellers MUST make in their lifetime, it should be to India. It goes from Amazing to Enthralling to Astonishing and all points inbetween. No tour I have taken with Tauck (and there have been seven) has come anywhere close to the magnificence of this trip. It should be Number One on everyone's Bucket List. Book today!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Taj Mahal (of course), Kerela, Mumbai, Varanasi, the palaces, the food, the superb organization, the lovely, smiling, willing people, the colours everywhere, the traffic (!), the vast contrasts, the hospitality, the bartering (once you got into the swing of it), the speed at which a designer outfit can be sewn and delivered to your hotel, etc.

review_img

ScorpioS

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

Tauck did it again. They took a hard trip and lightened the load. The hotels were, except for one, magnificent, giving one the chance to relax for the next day. The sights to see are most interesting and not like any other part of the World. The Tour Director and local guides were outstanding. The staff at the hotels were very courteous.

Most Memorable Moment:

Needless to say, the Taj is a magnificent edifice to view. The happenings on the Ganges River are not as bad as you might have been led to believe. Once the guide explains it, you understand the reason why and look at it in another light. We are not fond of Indian food but were thrilled to find out that Italian food is available almost everywhere

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you had a wonderful trip and thanks for sharing your experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

liviaw

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Annie is the Best tour director EVER! She made the trip a wonderful experience. Funny, smart, and fully qualified. India is an exciting place, different than anything I have ever experienced. Going alone on the special singles tour was a bit scary, but Annie made all the difference.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the sunrise over the lake at the Oberoi Resort in Udaipur, was my favorite. Also Watching the filming of the "Amazing Race" at the Agura Palace and Seeing Princess Caroline at the Amber Palace, were both exciting. Everything was special in its own way.

review_img

Jill Licata

Fascinating, Fabulous, and Shocking India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Our India trip with Tauck was the most fascinating tour we have ever experienced. Although we stayed in opulent "palace" type hotels, we still were able to view and experience the culture and conditions of life that are unlike any we have seen anywhere, and these images will remain with us forever. Our tour director, Annie was fabulous.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was floating in a boat on the Ganges River after dark, coming upon throngs of people gathered on the river banks surrounding about twenty blazing funeral pyres. The cremation scene was surreal, and our tour group lit floating candles, setting them adrift on the river, adding to the atmosphere.

review_img

AlanGetz

Contrasts in Living

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

My initial reaction to my wife's suggestion to visit India was NOT ME. After many conversations I agreed to go. I'm pleased to tell you it was a revelationary experience. The history and culture of this magnificent country can only be understood by spending time there. It should be on every travelers Must Do list.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Taj is rightfully named one of the 7 wonders of the world but most memorable to me was traveling from region to region and learning about the multiple cultures living within this one country called India.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Tphoffman

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

Excellent tour director, excellent itinerary, excellent accommodations wherever available. Mostly excellent local guides. The size of the group - 34- was much too large for me. The group consisted of lovely, interesting people, but still I felt it distracted me from opportunities to experience India. I did feel herded from time to time and I did not like that. In the future, I will be looking for very small group travel, no more than 12 people, and continue on our independent travels.

Most Memorable Moment:

The night on the Ganges.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Appreciate your taking the time to write us a review and give your feedback. Tauck does offer small group departures on many tours to accommodate those with that preference. Our Culturious trips are also organized into smaller groups. Hope this helps and we would love to travel with you again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sharon Kates

A trip never to be forgotten.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

It was an amazing experience! To further describe it would be to just use more of the same superlatives. It was also an education, for though I knew much about the north - and nothing about the south - our master tour director was so knowledgeable and passionate about the entire country...it's history, culture and people...that he was able to pass on the information he knew as well as the love he felt for this country to the rest of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

There was not just one memorable moment....there were many and I would find it very difficult to pick out just one. However, I can mention the wonder of the overall bombardment of the senses which I felt so much of the time.

review_img

Winnie

Beautiful India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

Firstly, the arrival & departure transfer arrangement was perfect, giving the assurance that we were in good hand. Secondly, our Tour Director was courteous, efficient and considerate, especially to tour members (like me with a weak right knee)with some problems in movement. At times, he had to swallow unreasonable complaints & demands from some tour members. Thirdly, the itinerary was VERY well-planned. Lastly, hotel rooms & service, and meals could not have been better. Bravo!

Most Memorable Moment:

The ceremonial rituals along the banks of the sacred Ganges --- the purifying dip in the "holy waters" in the morning; the cremation of the dead at night were memorable moments. The only drawback was that after Day 11 in Udaipur when more than half of the tour members would go their separate ways, there was no get-together party for us to bid farewell to each other, so unlike the send-off dinner party in Autumn 2008 in my 7-day Tauck tour of Spain.

review_img

BrendaBoulton

Amazing India!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

Diversity! So many different experiences! Never a dull moment, from mind boggling Ganges River to the beauty of the Taj! Hotels were awesome!

Most Memorable Moment:

Favorite Hotel - Oberoi in Agra! Most memorial moment - this is tough! The bus ride, never to be forgotten, the Ganges River, truly eye opening, the Raumburg Palace, cool! Got to go see for yourself! Will bring my granddaughter to experience India. My grandson would hate the poverty.

review_img

Malcolm Jennings

A land of wonderful surprises.

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

India has progressed so much over the past decade, and Tauck has done a wonderful job in ensuring that if you travel with them you experience all that is possible. Be it the magnificent hotels, the vibrant colors, the unbelievable hospitality, the cities and towns visited, you will be surprised on just how wonderful a country India is. Peter who was our Tour Director ensured that our journey through India was memorable, he is wealth of information that went out of his way for each of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Taj Mahal up close and personal was truly unbelievable. Pictures and videos of this mausoleum does not do justice to the grandeur of the structure both from the outside and on the inside too. Tauck will ask you to get up very early to see the Taj at dawn, worth it, even if it is to take pictures and enjoy the serenity of a mans tribute to his wife.

review_img

kevros

Spotlight on India!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

What an experience! Yes it was a world of contrast in India. Life is pretty tough for the Indians from our viewpoint but they seem happy people. After full days of colorful sightseeing how nice it was to go back to the beautiful Oberoi hotels to relax and then enjoy Indian food at its best. Our guide Peter was 'tops'! His knowledge, his attention to detail meant that each day flowed well. When we were deciding to go to India I knew it could be a challenge and Tauck came through for us indeed!

Most Memorable Moment:

I fulfilled my long held dream of sitting where Princess Di sat at the Taj Mahal! Think that might be a female thing! However, there was certainly a long queue of those that wanted to do the same. The Taj Mahal is breathtaking! Go see it! Don't think I have had the 'wow' factor like that before!

review_img

rragan

ONCE IN A LIFETIME

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

"A Portrait of India" is truly a once-in-a-lifetime journey/ exploration. Fortunately, I have had the experience twice -18 years ago - and it's still exciting, if not more so. India holds a fascination all its own. Friends and family ask why I wanted to return. Because its one of the most fascinating destinations on earth - poverty and opulence, sights, smells, colors, historical values and religions so different from our own, friendly people, incredible food. Not a boring minute. Great guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many: The scenes at the Varanasi ghats, the great palaces and ancient historical sights, the indescribable beauty of the Taj Mahal (of course), the beautiful hotels and absolutely fantastic swimming pools. All that said, my one most thrilling moment was a "surprise" extravaganza at the Rambagh Palace in Jaipur, which shall remain a secret for upcoming travelers.

review_img

dulim52

Very Impressive!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2011

Everything about this trip is fantastic. Varanasi is definitely an experience, but once is enough. I am not a religious fanatic. All the Oberoi hotels (except for Varanasi) are simply wonderful. Food is fantastic. The guides and Tauck tour director are exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

I don't know where to begin! Every place is marvelous!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button